Illumination

Harry Potter vs. Jesus?

My wife loves Post Secret. Big time! For a while we had a tradition of logging on there together every Sunday morning to check out the latest secrets but I think she got tired of waiting on me so now she does it by herself.

It just so happens that this weekend I was with her when she checked it and I saw this postcard:

Untitled picture

At first—if I’m completely honest—I was a little offended. I mean, how could the Harry Potter books even be compared to the Bible? Isn’t it like comparing a lighter to a flame thrower?! But I decided to hold my peace about it and later that morning I asked Connie what her impression of that card was.
Her reaction was very thought provoking:
“Daniel, if I just read the Bible without any instruction I would be inclined to feel the same. The Bible is not an easy book to understand…”
Well, besides the obvious fact that she must not be reading my Biblical Interpretation 101 blogs (*wink wink*), I think she hit the nail on the head! In fact, I’m almost embarrassed that I didn’t start with this topic when I started writing about Biblical interpretation.
Illumination

That’s right:  illumination. The Moody Handbook of Theology does a great job of defining illumination:

Because the Bible is God-breathed and therefore in an entirely different dimension from other literature, it is necessary that man receives God-given help in understanding the Bible (1 Cor. 2:11). Additionally, the unregenerate man’s sin-darkened mind cannot apprehend spiritual truths (1 Cor. 2:14). The work of illumination then is necessary to enable man to comprehend the Word of God (cf. Luke 24:44–45). Illumination can thus be defined as “the ministry of the Holy Spirit whereby He enlightens those who are in a right relationship with Him to comprehend the written Word of God.”
When Jesus described the Holy Spirit, He said that the Holy Spirit would teach us all things (John 14:26) and that the Holy Spirit would guide Christians into all truth (John 16:13.) The simple truth is, you cannot understand the Bible without the Holy Spirit. Elsewhere, Jesus said that non-Christians were incapable of receiving the Holy Spirit and that the Holy Spirit would dwell with and in Christians (John 14:17).
I say all this because I want to be very clear:  it is impossible to understand the Bible without the Holy Spirit. Sure, there are things about the Bible that even a child can understand, but there are also things that only the Holy Spirit will reveal to us (1 Corinthians 2:10, 13).
So how can we hope to understand the Bible? Simple: Pray! James 1:5 is a promise that if God’s children ask Him for wisdom, He will give it to them. Before reading the Bible, it’s very important to pray to God—and I actually like to pray specifically to the Holy Spirit. Thank the Holy Spirit for inspiring the Scriptures, and ask the Holy Spirit to reveal to your heart and mind the meaning of the Scriptures. You’ll be amazed at what He shows to you as you read the Bible!
Leave a Reply

