“I’m just a realist.”

Photobucket
“I’m not a pessimist, I’m just a realist!”

“Realists” have a skewed view of reality.

Has anyone ever told you they’re not negative; they’re just realists? That they just see the world for how it really is? I found this great quote by a “realist” on a forum: “others are floating on top of pink clouds with rainbows and unicorns expecting gold to drop down from heaven. People are being naively optimistic never anticipating the danger luring beneath the horizon.” I couldn’t help but smile at his description of other people. According to Dictionary.com, a realist is “a person who tends to view or represent things as they really are.” Princeton defines a realist as “a person who accepts the world as it literally is and deals with it accordingly.”
But here’s a question that popped into my head Sunday: do “realists” actually accept the world for how it really is?

Perhaps you’ve even claimed to be a realist before, eh? I know I have from time to time; it’s easy to begin to think that you’ve got things figured out. But Sunday I realized something about “realists.” They aren’t realists. In fact, “realists” have a skewed view of reality.
Consider the supernatural reality behind the situation.

According to God’s word nothing can separate us from the love of God (Rom 8:35-39). Do you truly believe Matthew 19:26 which says that with God all things are possible? Do you take God at His Word and trust in His faithfulness? Or do you get scared at the first sign that things might get a little rough? Whiners are not realists.
In reality, God is all-powerful! And He’s on your side.
In reality, our hope is in God (Rom 5:3-5). Our hope is not in this world (1 Jn 2:17, NIV).
In reality, we know that God will overcome. And through Him, so will we (Rev 12:11).
So I encourage you, when things aren’t looking so good, to consider the supernatural reality behind the situation. Consider the powerful testimony that God is building through your situations; and consider the reality that God is big enough to use anything for His glory (Eph 3:20-21).
God is the ultimate reality, place your hope in Him.
This entry was posted in Topical and tagged , , by daniel. Bookmark the permalink.

About daniel

First and foremost, I belong to Jesus. I try to live every day to bring glory to my King. I am married to the most amazing woman I've ever met; her name is Connie. I was born in San Antonio, TX; raised in Blaine, TN; served in the Air Force for seven years in Anchorage, Afghanistan, and the UAE; and am now attending Western Seminary in Portland, OR. I'm excited about the future!

Leave a Reply

