18+19=17

Last year, I decided that I wanted to read the the Bible chronologically in 2011 and, for the most part, I’ve been pretty good about staying on top of my reading. One of the things I enjoy about reading at this pace is that I get to take my time as I read through the Bible. I actually wish I had enough time in my schedule to write a blog a day, because I think I could just from what I’ve been reading and from what God has been showing me. But honestly, what’s the point of doing any of this reading if I don’t put it into practice?

While reading through Leviticus 18 and 19, I noticed something interesting about how God communicated through Moses:  God made His laws and statutes by appealing directly to His authority. In fact, in these two chapters alone, He says “I am the LORD” 17 times. (Thus Leviticus 18+19=17 appeals to God’s authority. For those who don’t believe me, here are the Scripture references: Leviticus 18:2, 5, 30; 19:2, 4, 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, 25, 28, 30, 32, 34, 36, 37.)
For example, in Leviticus 18:2, God tells Moses to start his address to the Israelites by reminding them that “I am the LORD your God.” Those silly Israelites! They must be really dumb for God to have to remind them over and over who He is. Why would God need to continually reassert His authority over them? Shouldn’t they just remember who God is? Shouldn’t they be acutely aware that God is God and they are not? I mean, who would ever rebel against God’s authority, right? Who would ever know what God requires of them and then refuse, ya know? Who would ever have the nerve to disobey their God? Oh wait…that’s right… me! And you!
It fascinates me that God has to continually remind the Israelites of His authority. The sad part is, I see this same pattern in my own life. Seventeen times, most of them in Chapter 19, God reminds the Israelites that He is their God. Are they so slow? Are we so slow?
My prayer is that I will become better at submitting myself to God’s authority, at listening when He speaks to me, and at following Him when He gives me direction.
This entry was posted in Bible, Topical and tagged by daniel. Bookmark the permalink.

About daniel

First and foremost, I belong to Jesus. I try to live every day to bring glory to my King. I am married to the most amazing woman I've ever met; her name is Connie. I was born in San Antonio, TX; raised in Blaine, TN; served in the Air Force for seven years in Anchorage, Afghanistan, and the UAE; and am now attending Western Seminary in Portland, OR. I'm excited about the future!

Leave a Reply

