Merry Christmas 2010

Today is Christmas. It’s a day that families get together; a day that gifts are exchanged; a day that, most importantly, we celebrate the birth of our Savior. Christmas is a day that we remember that God became man; John 1:14 says the word became flesh and made His dwelling among us. And why did he appear? To destroy the works of the devil (1 John 3:8). So why do we exchange gifts on Christmas?

Christmas is the time when God puts His money where His mouth is and sends His Son into this broken, fallen, messed up, crazy, hellish, imperfect world. Christmas is the time when we are given a gift that we did nothing to deserve and nothing to earn. This reality is greater than anything we ever imagined possible. Christmas is the time that we give gifts to remind us that God gave a gift greater than we could ever imagine 2000 years ago, despite the fact that we deserved death. Romans 6:23 says “the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Modern American culture does its best to distract us from this fact; it tries to tell us we need the latest TV, the coolest clothes, the newest CD, and a million other things that will complete us. But the truth is, we have all we need in Christ. He is sufficient and He is the only place we will ever find true joy and true completion.

Looking to any other gifts that God gives us in this life to complete us is quite common; it’s called idolatry and God has been fighting it from the beginning (don’t believe me, look at the first of the Ten Commandments: Exodus 20:2-3; Deuteronomy 5:6-7). It kills me that my heart is so quick to wander, to look elsewhere, to cheat on my Savior. If I’m honest, I’ll realize that I’m the one missing out; I’m the one settling for less; I’m the one that’s being cheated.

So this Christmas, I encourage you to spend some time thinking about this priceless gift we’ve been given: The grace of God, the forgiveness of Sins, the promise of Life Everlasting.

Spend some time thanking God for what He’s done on your behalf.

Spend some time remembering.

This entry was posted in Personal, Topical and tagged , by daniel. Bookmark the permalink.

About daniel

First and foremost, I belong to Jesus. I try to live every day to bring glory to my King. I am married to the most amazing woman I've ever met; her name is Connie. I was born in San Antonio, TX; raised in Blaine, TN; served in the Air Force for seven years in Anchorage, Afghanistan, and the UAE; and am now attending Western Seminary in Portland, OR. I'm excited about the future!

Leave a Reply

