Building a life worth living: Broken

I am often reminded, of late, of how God deals with me. For some, it is easy to get to their knees and go before the Father, for me, it seems as if the only time I’m on my knees is when I get knocked to them. For the last few days there has been a complete tearing down of all the “stuff” I’ve built up around my heart. And, that’s when it hit me, all of this, these feelings, the lack thereof, and experiences I’ve had, it’s all about the heart! Consider this, proverbs tells us to “above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.” (4:23) then, we see it gets complicated, in Matthew 15:19, we see that “it is out of the HEART that evil thoughts come, as well as murder, adultery, sexual immorality, stealing…”. But, we know that when are saved, we are given “a new heart.”. But, that doesn’t mean all that “stuff” just goes away. That comes from the renewing of the mind that we find in Romans. But, what was in my heart, my fleshly heart, were all the lies that vie been told or told myself and believed, the selfish plans and desires I had designed for personal accolades and the counterfeit that I used to make myself feel better. This has been troubling for me for days, this deep intense sadness and loneliness I’ve held onto as a way of rationalizing my actions and possibly to justify them has defined, not only who I am, but what I am. As I was driving to work today I was reminded of how God loves using “broken” people. The psalmist tells us in 34:18 “The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit. ” what’s amazing here is that brokenhearted here is literally translated “shattered”. Isn’t it awe-inspiring that God takes that which is utterly torn apart and move mountains. It’s all a condition of the heart.

One thought on “Building a life worth living: Broken

  1. Great post, I like hearing about your journey which I don't mean for you to experience it. But the fact I can learn from it as well. I don't really think I'm worthy to commit, but will just start with a story and maybe as I become will add more versus. I came to my new location with four prayers weighing heavy on my heart. First, my family is sent where we are needed the most. Second, our family will grow closer together spiritually. Third, I stay long enough to see it. Unfortunately, as many times in the past I'm traveling away, but this goes along He sends where we are needed the most. I just know when I surrender all of me to him I'm never steered wrong, it is amazing. The journey is still unwritten. The servant's servant.

Leave a Reply

