Never enough.

This is part eleven of a multi-entry blog series titled “Lessons I Learned in the Desert.”

I think this will be the last entry under the “Lessons I Learned in the Desert” series. One of the best aspects of my deployment was that I learned so much! It was an amazing experience. I learned a lot about God, the Bible, how to love people, and I learned a lot about myself. My deployment was a constant learning experience and taught me lessons I will carry with me through life.

But it doesn’t just stop there, I’ve realized that I will never stop learning. I am, among other things, a student and I always will be. We can never learn enough from God and we can never know God too closely. Late in his life, Paul wrote his letter to the Philippians. Paul is a super-star of the faith; he wrote 13 books of the New Testament and brought Christianity to the non-Jewish world! If anyone knew God you would think it was Paul, but in Phil 3:10, he says very simply that he wants to know Christ.

Even after everything Paul had done, he still desired to know Christ more and more. Our attitude must be the same as that of Paul. We must always pursue the relationship that we are free to have with God. In fact, Galatians 4:6 tells us that the Holy Spirit inside of us cries out to God like we would our dad. We must also have the humility to admit that we don’t know everything; we must remember that there is plenty of room for God to teach us and surprise us. I pray that I will always desire to have a deeper, stronger relationship with God… by the Holy Spirit, through the Son, to the Father. Amen.

This entry was posted in Deployment Lessons, Topical and tagged , , by daniel. Bookmark the permalink.

About daniel

First and foremost, I belong to Jesus. I try to live every day to bring glory to my King. I am married to the most amazing woman I've ever met; her name is Connie. I was born in San Antonio, TX; raised in Blaine, TN; served in the Air Force for seven years in Anchorage, Afghanistan, and the UAE; and am now attending Western Seminary in Portland, OR. I'm excited about the future!

Leave a Reply

