…hearts that want more

My wife recently bought me the new Toby Mac album called Tonight. As I opened it and removed the cd, I read the text behind the disc:

“…under a sky full of stars with hearts that want more”

How profound…isn’t there both a sense of wonder and a longing for home as you gaze at a sky full of stars? Psalm 19:1-4 tells us that the stars declare the glory of God in all languages at all places at all times. One need only look up to see God’s glory. It makes me feel small to look at the stars and at the same time makes me homesick. It amazes me that, despite the fact that I’m just a tiny speck in the universe, God loves me.

This quote makes me think that nothing in the universe can fill the void that God can. Only a relationship with our Creator can fulfill us. As Augustine puts it, “Our hearts are restless until they rest in Thee, O Lord.” 1 John 2:17 reminds us that this world is temporary; God is eternal. Looking at the stars reminds me that my home is found not in this life, but in the life to come.

Tonight
This entry was posted in Deployment Lessons, Quotes/Links and tagged , by daniel. Bookmark the permalink.

About daniel

First and foremost, I belong to Jesus. I try to live every day to bring glory to my King. I am married to the most amazing woman I've ever met; her name is Connie. I was born in San Antonio, TX; raised in Blaine, TN; served in the Air Force for seven years in Anchorage, Afghanistan, and the UAE; and am now attending Western Seminary in Portland, OR. I'm excited about the future!

Leave a Reply

