Hebrews 12:1-3

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.

It was a Saturday during the summer of 2006. Some friends and I were stretching before a run and I was feeling really good. It was a gorgeous Alaska morning and we were about to do our long run for the week; I think I was going to run 5 miles. This run served as a decompression for me from the stress of the week. It was the perfect way to start a weekend. We said a prayer and then started. I took off at a quick pace and was thankful for my health. Once I got about 3/4 of a mile out, I decided that I wanted to pray a little bit while I ran. So I took a side-trail that went up a hill to better see the mountains and sunrise. As I topped the hill, I said the words, “Thank you for this beautiful view, God.” It was at that moment, while I was fixated on the mountain and the far-off scenery that I stepped on a rock. I blew my ankle out (my 4th sprain for the season) and fell to the ground. Hard.

My run was over. I limped back to the car and waited for my friends to finish their runs.

During runs, and in life, I think it’s important to remember what awaits us at the finish line. I think we need to visualize our ultimate goal. We must look to Jesus. He waits for us at our finish line. However, Jesus also said that we must take up our cross daily (Luke 9:23). There is a daily, moment by moment element to our walk with Christ that must not be ignored either. If we look too far ahead, we will not pay attention to the path right in front of us.

When I’m running, I keep the finish line in my head, but I keep my eyes focused on the path directly before me. As you’ve read, I learned this lesson the hard way. I took my eyes off the path and looked at something far off in the distance. I paid for my carelessness by spraining my ankle.

In life, we must constantly keep Christ in the back of our mind as our ultimate goal. He is the author and perfecter of our faith, the beginning and the end, the starting line and the finish line. However, we must keep our focus on the daily opportunities we have to serve God.

Jesus endured the temporary pain of the cross for the joy set before Him. He kept His eyes on the finish line, but also completed the task immediately in front of Him. I hope to imitate Jesus by keeping in step with the Spirit (Gal 5:25) daily, but also always remembering the eternal promise of life everlasting.

This entry was posted in Bible, Deployment Lessons, Topical and tagged , , by daniel. Bookmark the permalink.

About daniel

First and foremost, I belong to Jesus. I try to live every day to bring glory to my King. I am married to the most amazing woman I've ever met; her name is Connie. I was born in San Antonio, TX; raised in Blaine, TN; served in the Air Force for seven years in Anchorage, Afghanistan, and the UAE; and am now attending Western Seminary in Portland, OR. I'm excited about the future!

One thought on “Hebrews 12:1-3

  1. Pingback: and is seated at the right hand of God the Father Almighty. | Flat Hill Faith

Leave a Reply

