Romans 12:4-5

Just as each of us has one body with many members, and these members do not all have the same function, so in Christ we who are many form one body, and each member belongs to all the others.

One of the biggest lessons I’ve learned over the past few years is that, no matter where I go, there is always a Body. God has taken me lots of places, and I always run across fellow Christians. I remember deploying to Afghanistan two years ago and feeling sad because I was leaving my church. As it turns out, after being there a few months, I had some of the best fellowship I had ever experienced until then. My only regret was that I had waited three months to get involved.

This deployment, I knew better. I got plugged in as soon as possible. I’ve learned how important and necessary it is to intentionally seek out fellowship. This deployment has given me some of the deepest, most meaningful fellowship I have ever experienced. I’ve made friendships that I will never forget. I hope they last for a lifetime and I know I will see these Saints in Heaven. It’s been great and prevented me from feeling lonely and isolated. It’s helped the time go by. And it’s helped keep me spiritually strong. I only hope I have been a blessing to my brothers and sisters here.

After doing a lot of studying on the subject, Communion has become very, very special to me. Communion is symbolic of everything Christ accomplished. We break the bread and drink the wine to remember that our relationship with God has been restored. We do it together as a Body to remember that, because of what Christ has done, our relationships with one another are also restored. Communion is symbolic of both the vertical and horizontal restoration of relationships.

This morning I had the chance to help with Communion. I passed out the bread. It’s part of the custom to say, “This is the body of Christ, broken for you” as the person takes a piece of bread. Today, as I said it I looked each person in the eye and reminded myself that Christ died for that person. I meant it every time I said it and was flooded with love for everyone in the room. Romans 12:4-5 reminds me that, in Christ, we all share redemption. During Communion we all remember the sacrifice Christ made for us. We all celebrate the fact that we can now have a restored relationship with our Heavenly Father…and with each other. Communion is the point where we break one bread into many pieces and eat it. It reminds us in that moment that we are all mystically connected by Christ.

We are one Body.

This entry was posted in Bible, Deployment Lessons, Theology and tagged , , by daniel. Bookmark the permalink.

About daniel

First and foremost, I belong to Jesus. I try to live every day to bring glory to my King. I am married to the most amazing woman I've ever met; her name is Connie. I was born in San Antonio, TX; raised in Blaine, TN; served in the Air Force for seven years in Anchorage, Afghanistan, and the UAE; and am now attending Western Seminary in Portland, OR. I'm excited about the future!

Leave a Reply

