Hebrews 12:1

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.

On Saturday, February 7th, I found out that a man who means a lot to me passed away. He had been battling cancer for a few years now, and it had always been considered terminal, so I’d had time to prepare myself. Nonetheless, when I found out Doug was gone, it really hurt. It’s especially been hard because I wasn’t able to make it for the funeral and really don’t feel any sense of closure. The good news is Doug is in Heaven…cheering his loved ones on as they continue this race called life.

Alhthough I memorized Hebrews 12:1 a long time ago, I wanted to spend the week reflecting and meditating on this one. In Chapter 11, we read about many of the Old Testament saints and how awesome and faithful they were. Then in Chapter 12, we’re told these saints are watching us and (I’d like to think) cheering us on. And that we should follow in their footsteps and throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. We’re told to run the race marked out for us.

This week I’ve really been asking myself if I’m living the type of life that will make my Maker smile. I certainly hope so!

This entry was posted in Bible and tagged , by daniel. Bookmark the permalink.

About daniel

First and foremost, I belong to Jesus. I try to live every day to bring glory to my King. I am married to the most amazing woman I've ever met; her name is Connie. I was born in San Antonio, TX; raised in Blaine, TN; served in the Air Force for seven years in Anchorage, Afghanistan, and the UAE; and am now attending Western Seminary in Portland, OR. I'm excited about the future!

One thought on “Hebrews 12:1

  1. Pingback: and is seated at the right hand of God the Father Almighty. | Flat Hill Faith

Leave a Reply

