Ecclesiastes 12:13

This week my memory verse was Ecclesiastes 12:13 from the NIV. It goes like this:
Now all has been heard;
here is the conclusion of the matter:
Fear God and keep his commandments,
for this is the whole duty of man.

The first book from the Bible I wanted to read this year was Ecclesiastes (which some of you know is my favorite OT book) because it reminds me of how short and life is. And, in the grand scheme of things, it reminds me that no matter what I do, if it’s not done to further God’s Kingdom, it is meaningless!

Chapter 12 is the final chapter of this book. In the end, the author tells us the moral of the story. “Fear God and keep his commandments, for this is the whole duty of man.” It doesn’t get much simpler than that!

This verse reminds me that living for anything other than God is meaningless.

God bless,
daniel

This entry was posted in Bible and tagged by daniel. Bookmark the permalink.

About daniel

First and foremost, I belong to Jesus. I try to live every day to bring glory to my King. I am married to the most amazing woman I've ever met; her name is Connie. I was born in San Antonio, TX; raised in Blaine, TN; served in the Air Force for seven years in Anchorage, Afghanistan, and the UAE; and am now attending Western Seminary in Portland, OR. I'm excited about the future!

Leave a Reply

